What makes a good UX researcher portfolio? Part 2: Presentation (Home Page)

In my first post about building a portfolio, I focused on the actual creation of a website for displaying your work. Having just finished redoing my own portfolio, I thought it would be appropriate to talk about some of the design choices I made.
To recap my last post, there are three essential components to creating portfolio content:
  1. Organization of the content
  2. Visual presentation of the content
  3. Textual presentation of the content

There are three qualities or features that each one of these should present

  1. Clarity
  2. Conciseness
  3. Context

As an example, I decided to change my home page from a “featured work” slider to the “about me” page for several reason. From my interviews for internships, I found that recruiters and designers do not benefit from sliders. Static sliders require extra clicking effort (why not just display all of the images next to each other?), and dynamic sliders are tricky because different people read at different speeds. It’s hard to time just how long a slide should be shown before advancing.

The main reason why I used the dynamic slider was to showcase my work. I also liked that it was something I had not usually come across in viewing other students’ portfolios. Most of these other portfolios looked similar, especially the landing page: a grid of small boxes with somewhat visually appealing images but no context of what the project is. I’ve already discussed why this design fails for a landing page.

In reflecting upon why a recruiter visits a portfolio in the first place, I realized that they are looking to hire the right talent. Part of that talent evaluation involves reviewing projects, but in the end, they want to learn more about the applicant and his or her design process. Changing the landing page to the “About Me” made my portfolio instantly more personable while highlighting my strengths as a researcher and my passions in and out of work.

Additionally, while I like my name, it is the Spanish equivalent of “John Smith”. There’s a David Muñoz doctor, musician, actor, DJ, teacher, soccer player, you name it. Davidmunoz.com currently costs over $500 to name based on demand. Given these constraints, I need to make sure off the bat that a recruiter knows he/she is at the right page. I added my picture (same one as LinkedIn for consistency) and have my logo on every page as well.

Standard

Leave a Reply

