The importance of reflection while conducting fieldwork

Course schedules were released yesterday. I had been advised to look into a computer science course called “User Interface Design & Evaluation” since it focused on qualitative research and user testing.

I’ve reviewed all of the slides for the semester in the past day and took notes.

In hindsight, it would have been nice to have taken this course last fall, but it didn’t fit into my schedule. Computing for Good was an absolutely essential class for me to take and I could not handle the courseload of five work-intensive courses.

Definitely would recommend the course for. However, given that I am conducting and have had experience learning about and actually conducting user testing and evaluation, I would learn more from other classes.

One valuable insight from the notes is documenting design reflections, which is the reason why I started this blog in the first place. I will be typing up my own reflections from the observations I have and will continue to conduct on this blog as well. The ones from past visits have been hand-written so I’ll add those fairly soon.

It’s important to acknowledge one’s own biases, especially when dealing with qualitative research. I’m sure these reflective posts will help me analyze my insights, both now and in the spring

Standard

Leave a Reply

